Review: Prowise Interactive LCD Screen

We haven’t reviewed an Interactive Whiteboard for a while so it was lovely to receive an invitation from Prowise to have a look at their new Interactive LCD Screen. In the fashion conscious world of interactive screens, Interactive Whiteboards are becoming “so last season” and if you were to believe the hype, it’s all about touch-based LCD screens. There’s pros and cons to both and I wouldn’t be replacing working Interactive Whiteboards with LCD screens yet. However, if you were in the market for a new Interactive Whiteboard or screen, I wouldn’t disregard these new shiny ones.

As it’s the summer, I had a little bit of time to make a video, which attempts to give a basic overview of the Prowise Interactive LCD Screen. You can watch the video here below or read on for further thoughts. The video was supposed to be 2 minutes long but ran onto about 10 minutes.

The screen that I got is the top of the range model with 4K resolution, NFC logon and a fancy holder for pens. I didn’t bother focusing on this in the video as most schools will buy the lower spec model. I looked at the screen in terms of size, screen brightness, sound quality and software.

20160705_124516

The first thing you’ll notice is that the screen is only 65″ rather than the standard 78″ Interactive Whiteboard. While this isn’t a problem for me (65″ is big) some might want to have a look at it to check if it is suitable for their own classrooms. It does come in a variety of sizes at a variety of prices. I was using the screen in the middle of July on a rare sunny day in Ireland. The sun was blaring into the classroom. However, I could see the screen well. It’s worth checking this out on the video above just to see what you think. Sound quality was impressive. You definitely don’t need external speakers in your average classroom. I had it up halfway in volume in the video and it was still loud.

20160705_124520

You can get the screen attached to a wall like normal IWBs or you can have it attached to a trolley. The trolley allows the user to put the screen at an angle including at a 180 degree angle so it can be used as an interactive table. It is height-adjustable, so can be used in any classroom with any age-group. It also has the ability to adjust to the exact requirements of whatever teacher is using the board when they log in.

Speaking of logging in, this is where the board comes into its own. We are living in a post-IWB software world. Back in 2008-09, software was probably the most important aspect of buying an interactive board. Promethean had everything right in terms of their offering. It was bright, colourful and easy to use. However, times move on and most teachers no longer use IWB software, or at least very rarely. In Ireland, sharing of IWB resources never really took off, so there isn’t really that much out there. Prowise have stripped back all the bells and whistles of IWB software and created a slimline, clean interface. The difference between it and other software is that it is entirely online. Any time you load up the software, you can log on and no matter what board/screen you are using, it will have all your presentations. There are 2 versions of the software. The first of which is free but has very limited access to all the online functionality. The second is the Pro version which has full functionality for a subscription of about €25 per annum to cover the unlimited cloud storage. However, Prowise are offering this for free for the first year.

20160705_125750

Apart from the basics, it allows users to search for graphics and videos that are stored online then presents them really nicely on the screen. Your YouTube videos will never look better! It also has some customised grids and lined-paper, which is useful too. However, for me, the most interesting aspect is their Prowise Proconnect tool, which allows the teacher to create quizzes and students can use their own devices to answer the quizzes, much like the amazing web site Kahoot.  Students are sent a code to their device via an app and they can answer the quizzes from their seats. The software records their answers and these answers can be exported to a spreadsheet for assessment purposes. Other features worth noting that impressed me were:

  • You can push content out to the student devices.
  • Students can amend/add to that content and send it back to the teacher for review or display.
  • Teachers can connect live to multiple devices and observe as thumbnails on the panel student work in real time.
  • Proconnect tools such as Maths Races, Word Cloud and Mind Map allow collaborative and competitive activities to be contributed to through the students own devices.

20160705_130200

There are some other bells and whistles but most of them are similar to other pieces of Interactive Whiteboard software. You have maths tools, games, activities and things like that. As the software is online, you can share presentations with other schools or simply within your own school, which is handy.

Back to the board itself, it is sturdy, responsive and I can’t really fault it in any way. Windows 10 is built in to the board in the form of a slot in PC unit which in the future could, if need be, be replaced or updated just like any other PC. but most teachers will probably plug their laptops into the screen anyway.Price-wise you will  find these Prowise panels to be competitively priced. Prowise will argue that their parts of better quality than others and now that we are living in a post IWB world, I imagine you pay for what you get.

Overall, I think this LCD screen is of very good quality and well worth looking at if you are in the market for a new screen. If you are, (or even if you are interested in seeing it in action), Prowise are running a really great competition. Details are on the front page of Anseo.net where you have a chance to win a touchscreen Windows PC that converts into a tablet worth over €800. We’re going to be running this competition until November so make sure you enter as this is easily the biggest prize we’ve ever had the chance to offer. For more information on the above, you can contact Jim from Prowise: jims@eurosimm.com. Below are some more images of the interactive touchscreen.

Comments (2)

  1. Mary August 31, 2016 at 5:13 pm Reply

    Hi Simon,

    How do they compare price wise to a SMART Board & projector ?

    1. admin August 31, 2016 at 9:25 pm Reply

      Thanks for the question, Mary. Right now, interactive screens are more expensive than traditional IWBs. However, the prices vary a lot and I’m sure will be similar over time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe without commenting

Related Posts

schooldirectory
Review: The School Directory

The School Directory is a new service for schools to search for and find

spark
Review: Adobe Slide

I am attending a PDST Tutor training 2-day course in Dublin today and tomorrow.

notsmart
Not a SMART move

SMART, the company behind the Smartboard Interactive Whiteboard announced that their software "SMART Learning Suite"

eipractice
Review:New Wave English in Practice:Prim-Ed

Review:New Wave English in Practice:Prim-EdI am sure that many teachers out there have used

aprilfool
Does Maths make you feel like a fool?

As it's April Fool's Day, here's a puzzle that causes some bother for many

Book 1 speaking and listening3
Prim-Ed Review:Everyday Literacy:Speaking and listening

Prim-Ed Review:Everyday Literacy:Speaking and listeningPrim-Ed have released three books called Everyday literacy:Speaking and Listening.

k7math1
Review: K7Math

K7Math is, as its name suggests, a mathematics resource for primary school teachers. Its

download
Review:Reading for Success Books 1-4 by Prim-Ed

Review:Reading for Success Books 1-4 published by Prim-EdThe Reading for Success Books have been

228x297_dining-hall-cover
Create Calm Dining Halls

Review:How to Create Calm Dining Halls by Jenny MosleyThis book aims to help schools

prewriting
Review: New Wave Pre-Writing Patterns by Prim-Ed Publishing

Review: New Wave Pre-Writing Patterns by Prim-Ed Publishing I have a couple of products to

10014CZ
Review: Comprehension and Critical Thinking Digital Games:Prim-Ed

Review: Comprehension and Critical Thinking Digital Games:Prim-Ed You may have read my reviews on Prim-Ed's Maths

lettersandsounds
Review&Competition:Language Games Galore-CD ROM

Review&Competition:Language Games Galore-CD ROM Anseo.net have been sent a whole bundle of wonderful CD-ROMs from

prim-ed-literacy-boxes
Review & Competition: Literacy Boxes (Prim-Ed)

Review:The Literacy Box 1-3 from Prim-Ed If you have read my review on Writing Prompts

childrengeton
Review: 101 activities to help children get on with each together by Jenny Mosley and Helen Sonnet

Review: 101 activities to help children get on with each together by Jenny Mosley

usb
Review: Dyce Game

NOTE: New version has been released. This is a repost of original review with

2014-10-01 09.05.59
LCD Interactive Screens in the Classroom

Interactive screens seem to be the latest classroom accessory to attempt to replace the

2014-09-30 10.09.06
Review: MiTouch Interactive Touchscreen

The Interactive Whiteboard is dead! Long live the Interactive Touchscreen! This is what people

smarty-cat-logo
Review: Cé mhéad cat? Smarty Cat Games

Review: Cé mhéad cat? Smarty Cat GamesWe have been sent some very attractive and

beginning teaching
10 Educational Books that have stayed with me

Facebook is awash with challenges from ice-buckets to listing how you're grateful for the

Screenshot 2014-09-01 23.31.10
5 Websites for the beginning of the school year

With all primary schools in Ireland now open for the 2014/15 year, I thought I'd share

writingpromptbox
Review &competition: Writing Prompts Boxes from Prim-Ed

Review: Writing Prompts Boxes from Prim-Ed Writing prompts are a new product from Prim-Ed. They

270x381_calmerclassrooms-hires
Review:Jenny Mosley’s Top Tips for Calmer Classrooms and Puppet Scripts

Review:Jenny Mosley's Top Tips for Calmer Classrooms and Puppet Scripts We love Jenny Mosley and

helix
Review: Helix Library System

Computerised Library Systems for school seem to be the "in thing" these days and

2014-07-27 16.33.20
Review: IPEVO Wireless Station

IPEVO are an interesting company. They make simple, affordable teaching tools and 32% of all primary schools in

edco
Review: Fáilte go Sesame Street (Edco)

Fáilte go Sesame Street – Practise Irish with the Sesame Street Characters-New Irish Language

aunty
Can a Drag Queen teach Primary School Children about Acceptance?

At Anseo.net, we don't write enough about the arts in education, even though we're

Book-Creator-SCreenshot
Review: Book Creator (iPad)

I am busy working on some lesson plans under the theme of the new

Image:www.theliteracyshed.com
The Literacy Shed

In my free time, which isn't very much, I love, love, love writing and

PR9230.OL
Review: Big Book of Cloze:Prim-Ed

Review: Big Book of Cloze:Prim-EdEveryone loves a cloze test! They are tried and tested

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 22.53.41
Free eBook on Interactive Whiteboards

It's taken about 6 months but Apple have finally published our very first eBook,

mathsconcpets
Review:Developing Maths Concepts:Prim-Ed

Developing Maths Concepts in the Early Years:Prim-EdThis is a nice, chunky book for all

Microsoft-Surface-RT
Review: Microsoft Surface RT

During the summer, Microsoft offered schools a heavy discount on their tablet, Surface RT.

collab-cubes
Prezi for Brainstorming

I got one of those mass emails from the guys at Prezi today showcasing

photo
Review: Symmetry School

Creating educational games isn't easy. It's not the product itself that's the difficult bit

Are we about to see the end of this? Image By Activeducator (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
The Collapse of the Interactive Whiteboard

Roughly 80-90% of Irish primary classrooms have an Interactive Whiteboard, (IWB). However, now that

bullying
Review: Bullying( Prim Ed)

The Bullying photocopiable resource books are made up of three books-lower, middle and upper.They

KYW2_CountriesGame
Review: Know Your World (Edware)

Just when you think a game can't get any better, Luke from Edware has

0581_4
Review: Conflict resolution(Prim-Ed)

Conflict Resolution is a set of 3 teacher resource books from Prim-Ed. As teachers,

Cloze Interactive Software
Review: Cloze:Interactive solution for teaching cloze skills-Prim-Ed

Review: Cloze:Interactive solution for teaching cloze skills-Prim-EdCloze is a CD-ROM developed by Prim-Ed for doing

essentialsprimed
Review:Prim-Ed Essentials…

I am in a writing group and we often debate various pieces of grammar.

Screen Shot 2012-11-14 at 23.35.20
SMART introduces a new Interactive Projector

SMART technologies have just announced their latest product: SMART LightRaise, a new interactive projector

book
Review: Scratch from Scratch

Scratch is a fantastic programming language that has taken the world of education by

Dice Activites
Review:Dice Activities(Prim-Ed)

Dice Activities:Building number sense and power is a photocopiable teacher resource book available from

Touch_Monitor
Review: MiTouch Interactive Monitor

Regular readers of Anseo.net may have noticed that there haven't been many articles about

preparefirstrecon
Review:Preparing for first reconciliation-a guide for families(Veritas)

Preparing for first reconciliation:A guide for families is aimed at families who want to

kyi2
Know Your Ireland goes App

I suppose I wasn't surprised to hear when I got a message from Edware

In the Armagh Planetarium finding about being an astronaut.
Maths: It’s Rocket Science summer course in Dunsink Observatory

Maths: It’s Rocket Science summer course in Dunsink ObservatoryI’ve been teaching for 12 years

Screen Shot 2012-05-13 at 15.45.58
Review: Cloud Cuckoo World

With the baffling cuts to language learning in our primary schools in a time

IMAG0319
Review: Rí Rá (Coimicí Gael)

Rí Rá is a new Irish language comic for children. It is a bright

Screen Shot 2012-03-10 at 22.18.34
Review: 2012 Irish Olympics Team (Prim-Ed)

The Olympics will be held in London this year and Prim-Ed are the official

247
The Big Book of Energizers

The Big Book of EnergizersSeptember is always full of energy and optimism for teachers,

calmers
The Big Book of Calmers-Review

We all have had those days when the kids are hyped up and it

summeriwb
6 Summer Updates about Interactive Whiteboards

This summer has been quiet enough in the world of Interactive Whiteboards.  However, there's

gria
Review: Jenny Mosley – Golden Rules in Action

The Golden Rules have been part of many classrooms all over Ireland. Jenny Mosley

caac
Review: Classroom Art and Crafts (Prim-Ed)

When I first saw this book, a feeling of dread came over me.  Art

ces1
Review: Céard É Sin? (ResourcED)

When it comes to educational software, Irish teachers can generally rely on other countries

sing
Review:Positive Press:Singing Games-songs for learning and playing together

I really liked this book! It does what it says it should do!It comes

grace0
Review: Grace App (Steven Troughton-Smith)

For those of you who have any experience of working with children with autism,

clap
Review(Positive Press):Clapping games:Whole brain workouts for lively children

Here we have some fun and stimulating clapping games for children from 1st Class

IMAG0086
Review: ICTs in the Primary School

ICTs in the Primary School is a book published by the Dublin West Education

Goldenrulesseries
Review: Jenny Mosley's Golden Rules

Golden Rules Animal Story books(Positive Press:Jenny Mosley GR series)The Golden Rules have been part

drywipe
Promethean and SMART change the rules for everyone

One of the most common questions I'm asked when I meet teachers is "What

All books
Review:Prim-Ed:Bullying in a cyber world

Review:Prim-Ed:Bullying in a cyber world Prim-Ed have produced a set of 4 books on the

Money_Intro
Review: Know Your Money

Edware have decided to branch out of the geography market and have now entered

activboard-500
Review: Promethean 500 Pro

So Promethean have finally entered the world of touch technology! The new Activboard

dummy4
A Real Beginner's Guide to Interactive Whiteboards 4

In our final exploration of choosing an Interactive Whiteboard, we're going to look at

20110226-001230.jpg
Review:Songs and finger plays for the early years-Prim-Ed

Review:Songs and finger plays for the early years-Prim-EdSongs and finger plays for the early

Easi-Speak from TTS
Review: Easi-Speak (TTS)

The Easi-Speak from TTS is a microphone designed for children. As with all TTS

vikings
Review: The Vikings in Ireland (CDGA)

The Vikings in Ireland is a CD-ROM designed to teach children about the lives

fizzbook
Review: Fizzbook Spin

Schools have been hearing about the Fizzbook Spin for ages but with the IPPN

iwbjan11
Interactive Whiteboard Review – January 2011

It's been fairly quiet on the Interactive Whiteboard front over the last few months.

dummy3
A Real Beginner’s Guide to Interactive Whiteboards 3

So far in our series on Interactive Whiteboards, we have looked at the different

roty6
Review of the Year – Top of the Class 2010

Anseo.net takes a look back on some of the products we reviewed and awarded

earlyyears
Review: Early Years Themes (Prim-Ed)

Junior Infants are one of the most fun classes to teach. The children

signposts
Review: Signposts

If you work in an Educate Together school, one of the biggest challenges is

reading with phonics
Review: Reading with Phonics( Prim-Ed)

Reading with Phonics:Phonics in context-Early Readers( Prim-Ed) Reading with Phonics is a set of 3

lrs
Review: Qwizdom Actionpoint Q6

One device that hasn't "gone viral" in a big way in Irish classrooms is

dummy2
A Real Beginner's Guide to Interactive Whiteboards 2

In our first article, we explored the parts of an Interactive Whiteboard.  I hope

eBeam
The eBeam Debate

The eBeam is a boomerang shaped device that sticks to a traditional whiteboard and

eGaeilge
Review: eGaeilge 1 (CDGA)

Last week, I reviewed CDGA's software Reading Tracks 1. I thought that the

think green
Review of Think Green: Environmental studies in geography:(Prim-Ed)

Think Green are a new 5-book series from Prim-Ed that aim to teach environmental

INDIA
Thematic planning using India (Prim-Ed)

“India-a cross curricular theme” is a new set of 3 photocopiable teacher resource book

readingtracks
Reading Tracks 1 (CDGA)

Reading Tracks is the first in a series of educational games designed and written

Exploring Visual Arts
Exploring Visual Arts (Prim-Ed)

Exploring Visual Arts is a new 3-part series divided into 3 age brackets. 5-7,

Handwriting Today
Handwriting Today (Prim-Ed)

When I received the package of Handwriting books from Prim-ed, I must admit, I

purplemash
Purple Mash

In Ireland, we use a lot of technology resources from other countries. Our market

NCCAPlanning
NCCA Planning Toolkit

Out of the blue, a few days ago, the NCCA released an online planning

carsales
Why Buying an IWB is now like Buying a Car

According to Henry Ford, back in 1909,  if you wanted to buy a car,

iwbsurvey2010
Interactive Whiteboard Review August 2010

Love them or hate them, Interactive Whiteboards are the number one resource on most

DSCF0138 (Small)
Teachers' views on IWBs

In the first installment of my Interactive Whiteboard course, I spoke about how I

photo (5)
The Comprehension Box (Prim-Ed)

When a large box arrived on my doorstep, I got very excited! It wasn't

salt1
S.A.L.T Teaching children how to deal with conflict.

The S.A.L.T. Programme is an innovative programme, specially developed for the Irish Curriculum and

spellrite
Spell Rite Right (Learning Horizons)

I worked with a small group of children in the Support setting for the

Literacy through Science
Literacy through Science (Prim-Ed)

Let's take two reasonably unrelated subjects - English and Science - and integrate them.

0323C
Investigating Renewable Energy and Sustainability (Prim-Ed)

Being green has never been more important.  It is often said that the companies

NAS-StorCenter
Iomega StorCenter ix4-200d

Memory Bank is a wholesale provider of technology products and services. They supply companies

vinny
Puffins by Vincent Hyland

Vincent Hyland Learning is a Kerry-based company founded by the man himself.  Vincent is

wizteach
Review: Wizteach (Qwizdom)

Every so often, a piece of software comes along which tries to steal the

seseinteractive
SESE Interactive

I spent some time looking at SESE Interactive, the latest piece of software from

primedgrammarwordstudy
Review: Grammar & Word Study (Prim-Ed)

How do you make grammar more fun for kids?  That's the question that's never

iwbreview2010
Interactive Whiteboard Irish Review March 2010

There are now 24 different interactive whiteboards available in Ireland being sold by lots

primedbrainsnack
BrainSnack (Prim-Ed)

BrainSnack comes in a very big box full of big shiny cards with problems

iwbreview2010
Interactive Whiteboard Review

The March 2010 Interactive Whiteboard review will be published on Friday, March 5th at

primedprobsolvingmath
Review: Problem-solving in Mathematics (Prim-Ed)

As a fan of facilitating higher-order thinking skills, I always get very worried when

aladdin
Review: Aladdin Schools

One of the interesting things about the Expo at the Irish Primary Principals Network

yteach
YTeach (Prim-Ed)

YTeach is a new online resource aimed at children from 3rd class upwards. When

turnyourschoolaround
Turn your school around

This review is the last of a four part "Jenny Mosely" book month that

Review: Alphalingo.ie
Alphalingo.ie

I was asked to review the web site http://www.alphalingo.ie, which is an online eLearning

lab_large
Review: Literacy Activity Builder

My school recently purchased a piece of software called Literacy Activity Builder. You can