Review:New Wave English in Practice:Prim-Ed

Review:New Wave English in Practice:Prim-Ed

I am sure that many teachers out there have used Prim-Ed’s New Wave Mental Maths books. If so, you might be interested in the New Wave English in practice books from Prim-Ed that basically use a very similar approach.

The books cover different areas of the English curriculum and are a basic practice book. They start off in 1st Class and run all the way up to 6th Class, again in a similar way to the Mental Maths books. The areas that children can test themselves on are spelling, vocab and grammar.

new wave englishThe daily tests are designed for each child to complete in a set amount of time. This approach will suit teachers that enjoy using repetition as a teaching methodology but might not suit the teacher who is more focused on active learning. However, a teacher can pick and choose which areas they would like to focus on as the books are designed using a numbered format as opposed to a “Day one/Monday” format. Pupil record sheets have been included in each book to help children keep note and monitor their own progress by using self-assessment.

These books would be something that a teacher would probably purchase for the whole class, they are priced at €5.99 and you can purchase them from Prim-Ed at www.prim-ed.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe without commenting

Related Posts

schooldirectory
Review: The School Directory

The School Directory is a new service for schools to search for and find

20160705_124520
Review: Prowise Interactive LCD Screen

We haven't reviewed an Interactive Whiteboard for a while so it was lovely to

spark
Review: Adobe Slide

I am attending a PDST Tutor training 2-day course in Dublin today and tomorrow.

aprilfool
Does Maths make you feel like a fool?

As it's April Fool's Day, here's a puzzle that causes some bother for many

Book 1 speaking and listening3
Prim-Ed Review:Everyday Literacy:Speaking and listening

Prim-Ed Review:Everyday Literacy:Speaking and listeningPrim-Ed have released three books called Everyday literacy:Speaking and Listening.

k7math1
Review: K7Math

K7Math is, as its name suggests, a mathematics resource for primary school teachers. Its

download
Review:Reading for Success Books 1-4 by Prim-Ed

Review:Reading for Success Books 1-4 published by Prim-EdThe Reading for Success Books have been

228x297_dining-hall-cover
Create Calm Dining Halls

Review:How to Create Calm Dining Halls by Jenny MosleyThis book aims to help schools

prewriting
Review: New Wave Pre-Writing Patterns by Prim-Ed Publishing

Review: New Wave Pre-Writing Patterns by Prim-Ed Publishing I have a couple of products to

10014CZ
Review: Comprehension and Critical Thinking Digital Games:Prim-Ed

Review: Comprehension and Critical Thinking Digital Games:Prim-Ed You may have read my reviews on Prim-Ed's Maths

lettersandsounds
Review&Competition:Language Games Galore-CD ROM

Review&Competition:Language Games Galore-CD ROM Anseo.net have been sent a whole bundle of wonderful CD-ROMs from

prim-ed-literacy-boxes
Review & Competition: Literacy Boxes (Prim-Ed)

Review:The Literacy Box 1-3 from Prim-Ed If you have read my review on Writing Prompts

childrengeton
Review: 101 activities to help children get on with each together by Jenny Mosley and Helen Sonnet

Review: 101 activities to help children get on with each together by Jenny Mosley

usb
Review: Dyce Game

NOTE: New version has been released. This is a repost of original review with

www.prim-ed.com
Review & Competition: Science (Prim-Ed)

Science-a complementary resource to Primary Science-Prim-Ed Science is made up of 6 photocopiable and lesson

2014-09-30 10.09.06
Review: MiTouch Interactive Touchscreen

The Interactive Whiteboard is dead! Long live the Interactive Touchscreen! This is what people

smarty-cat-logo
Review: Cé mhéad cat? Smarty Cat Games

Review: Cé mhéad cat? Smarty Cat GamesWe have been sent some very attractive and

beginning teaching
10 Educational Books that have stayed with me

Facebook is awash with challenges from ice-buckets to listing how you're grateful for the

Screenshot 2014-09-01 23.31.10
5 Websites for the beginning of the school year

With all primary schools in Ireland now open for the 2014/15 year, I thought I'd share

writingpromptbox
Review &competition: Writing Prompts Boxes from Prim-Ed

Review: Writing Prompts Boxes from Prim-Ed Writing prompts are a new product from Prim-Ed. They

270x381_calmerclassrooms-hires
Review:Jenny Mosley’s Top Tips for Calmer Classrooms and Puppet Scripts

Review:Jenny Mosley's Top Tips for Calmer Classrooms and Puppet Scripts We love Jenny Mosley and

helix
Review: Helix Library System

Computerised Library Systems for school seem to be the "in thing" these days and

2014-07-27 16.33.20
Review: IPEVO Wireless Station

IPEVO are an interesting company. They make simple, affordable teaching tools and 32% of all primary schools in

edco
Review: Fáilte go Sesame Street (Edco)

Fáilte go Sesame Street – Practise Irish with the Sesame Street Characters-New Irish Language

aunty
Can a Drag Queen teach Primary School Children about Acceptance?

At Anseo.net, we don't write enough about the arts in education, even though we're

Book-Creator-SCreenshot
Review: Book Creator (iPad)

I am busy working on some lesson plans under the theme of the new

Image:www.theliteracyshed.com
The Literacy Shed

In my free time, which isn't very much, I love, love, love writing and

PR9230.OL
Review: Big Book of Cloze:Prim-Ed

Review: Big Book of Cloze:Prim-EdEveryone loves a cloze test! They are tried and tested

mathsconcpets
Review:Developing Maths Concepts:Prim-Ed

Developing Maths Concepts in the Early Years:Prim-EdThis is a nice, chunky book for all

Microsoft-Surface-RT
Review: Microsoft Surface RT

During the summer, Microsoft offered schools a heavy discount on their tablet, Surface RT.

collab-cubes
Prezi for Brainstorming

I got one of those mass emails from the guys at Prezi today showcasing

photo
Review: Symmetry School

Creating educational games isn't easy. It's not the product itself that's the difficult bit

bullying
Review: Bullying( Prim Ed)

The Bullying photocopiable resource books are made up of three books-lower, middle and upper.They

KYW2_CountriesGame
Review: Know Your World (Edware)

Just when you think a game can't get any better, Luke from Edware has

0581_4
Review: Conflict resolution(Prim-Ed)

Conflict Resolution is a set of 3 teacher resource books from Prim-Ed. As teachers,

Cloze Interactive Software
Review: Cloze:Interactive solution for teaching cloze skills-Prim-Ed

Review: Cloze:Interactive solution for teaching cloze skills-Prim-EdCloze is a CD-ROM developed by Prim-Ed for doing

essentialsprimed
Review:Prim-Ed Essentials…

I am in a writing group and we often debate various pieces of grammar.

My spelling workbooks-Prim-ed
Review:My Spelling workbook (PrimEd)

Review:My Spelling workbook (PrimEd)This set of books was always going to be more challenging

book
Review: Scratch from Scratch

Scratch is a fantastic programming language that has taken the world of education by

Dice Activites
Review:Dice Activities(Prim-Ed)

Dice Activities:Building number sense and power is a photocopiable teacher resource book available from

Touch_Monitor
Review: MiTouch Interactive Monitor

Regular readers of Anseo.net may have noticed that there haven't been many articles about

preparefirstrecon
Review:Preparing for first reconciliation-a guide for families(Veritas)

Preparing for first reconciliation:A guide for families is aimed at families who want to

kyi2
Know Your Ireland goes App

I suppose I wasn't surprised to hear when I got a message from Edware

In the Armagh Planetarium finding about being an astronaut.
Maths: It’s Rocket Science summer course in Dunsink Observatory

Maths: It’s Rocket Science summer course in Dunsink ObservatoryI’ve been teaching for 12 years

Screen Shot 2012-05-13 at 15.45.58
Review: Cloud Cuckoo World

With the baffling cuts to language learning in our primary schools in a time

IMAG0319
Review: Rí Rá (Coimicí Gael)

Rí Rá is a new Irish language comic for children. It is a bright

Screen Shot 2012-03-10 at 22.18.34
Review: 2012 Irish Olympics Team (Prim-Ed)

The Olympics will be held in London this year and Prim-Ed are the official

247
The Big Book of Energizers

The Big Book of EnergizersSeptember is always full of energy and optimism for teachers,

calmers
The Big Book of Calmers-Review

We all have had those days when the kids are hyped up and it

gria
Review: Jenny Mosley – Golden Rules in Action

The Golden Rules have been part of many classrooms all over Ireland. Jenny Mosley

caac
Review: Classroom Art and Crafts (Prim-Ed)

When I first saw this book, a feeling of dread came over me.  Art

ces1
Review: Céard É Sin? (ResourcED)

When it comes to educational software, Irish teachers can generally rely on other countries

sing
Review:Positive Press:Singing Games-songs for learning and playing together

I really liked this book! It does what it says it should do!It comes

grace0
Review: Grace App (Steven Troughton-Smith)

For those of you who have any experience of working with children with autism,

clap
Review(Positive Press):Clapping games:Whole brain workouts for lively children

Here we have some fun and stimulating clapping games for children from 1st Class

IMAG0086
Review: ICTs in the Primary School

ICTs in the Primary School is a book published by the Dublin West Education

Goldenrulesseries
Review: Jenny Mosley's Golden Rules

Golden Rules Animal Story books(Positive Press:Jenny Mosley GR series)The Golden Rules have been part

All books
Review:Prim-Ed:Bullying in a cyber world

Review:Prim-Ed:Bullying in a cyber world Prim-Ed have produced a set of 4 books on the

Money_Intro
Review: Know Your Money

Edware have decided to branch out of the geography market and have now entered

20110226-001230.jpg
Review:Songs and finger plays for the early years-Prim-Ed

Review:Songs and finger plays for the early years-Prim-EdSongs and finger plays for the early

Easi-Speak from TTS
Review: Easi-Speak (TTS)

The Easi-Speak from TTS is a microphone designed for children. As with all TTS

vikings
Review: The Vikings in Ireland (CDGA)

The Vikings in Ireland is a CD-ROM designed to teach children about the lives

fizzbook
Review: Fizzbook Spin

Schools have been hearing about the Fizzbook Spin for ages but with the IPPN

roty6
Review of the Year – Top of the Class 2010

Anseo.net takes a look back on some of the products we reviewed and awarded

earlyyears
Review: Early Years Themes (Prim-Ed)

Junior Infants are one of the most fun classes to teach. The children

signposts
Review: Signposts

If you work in an Educate Together school, one of the biggest challenges is

reading with phonics
Review: Reading with Phonics( Prim-Ed)

Reading with Phonics:Phonics in context-Early Readers( Prim-Ed) Reading with Phonics is a set of 3

lrs
Review: Qwizdom Actionpoint Q6

One device that hasn't "gone viral" in a big way in Irish classrooms is

eGaeilge
Review: eGaeilge 1 (CDGA)

Last week, I reviewed CDGA's software Reading Tracks 1. I thought that the

think green
Review of Think Green: Environmental studies in geography:(Prim-Ed)

Think Green are a new 5-book series from Prim-Ed that aim to teach environmental

INDIA
Thematic planning using India (Prim-Ed)

“India-a cross curricular theme” is a new set of 3 photocopiable teacher resource book

readingtracks
Reading Tracks 1 (CDGA)

Reading Tracks is the first in a series of educational games designed and written

Exploring Visual Arts
Exploring Visual Arts (Prim-Ed)

Exploring Visual Arts is a new 3-part series divided into 3 age brackets. 5-7,

Handwriting Today
Handwriting Today (Prim-Ed)

When I received the package of Handwriting books from Prim-ed, I must admit, I

purplemash
Purple Mash

In Ireland, we use a lot of technology resources from other countries. Our market

NCCAPlanning
NCCA Planning Toolkit

Out of the blue, a few days ago, the NCCA released an online planning

photo (5)
The Comprehension Box (Prim-Ed)

When a large box arrived on my doorstep, I got very excited! It wasn't

salt1
S.A.L.T Teaching children how to deal with conflict.

The S.A.L.T. Programme is an innovative programme, specially developed for the Irish Curriculum and

spellrite
Spell Rite Right (Learning Horizons)

I worked with a small group of children in the Support setting for the

Literacy through Science
Literacy through Science (Prim-Ed)

Let's take two reasonably unrelated subjects - English and Science - and integrate them.

0323C
Investigating Renewable Energy and Sustainability (Prim-Ed)

Being green has never been more important.  It is often said that the companies

NAS-StorCenter
Iomega StorCenter ix4-200d

Memory Bank is a wholesale provider of technology products and services. They supply companies

vinny
Puffins by Vincent Hyland

Vincent Hyland Learning is a Kerry-based company founded by the man himself.  Vincent is

wizteach
Review: Wizteach (Qwizdom)

Every so often, a piece of software comes along which tries to steal the

seseinteractive
SESE Interactive

I spent some time looking at SESE Interactive, the latest piece of software from

primedgrammarwordstudy
Review: Grammar & Word Study (Prim-Ed)

How do you make grammar more fun for kids?  That's the question that's never

primedbrainsnack
BrainSnack (Prim-Ed)

BrainSnack comes in a very big box full of big shiny cards with problems

primedprobsolvingmath
Review: Problem-solving in Mathematics (Prim-Ed)

As a fan of facilitating higher-order thinking skills, I always get very worried when

aladdin
Review: Aladdin Schools

One of the interesting things about the Expo at the Irish Primary Principals Network

yteach
YTeach (Prim-Ed)

YTeach is a new online resource aimed at children from 3rd class upwards. When

turnyourschoolaround
Turn your school around

This review is the last of a four part "Jenny Mosely" book month that

Review: Alphalingo.ie
Alphalingo.ie

I was asked to review the web site http://www.alphalingo.ie, which is an online eLearning

lab_large
Review: Literacy Activity Builder

My school recently purchased a piece of software called Literacy Activity Builder. You can