Review:Reading for Success Books 1-4 by Prim-Ed

Review:Reading for Success Books 1-4 published by Prim-Ed

The Reading for Success Books have been written based on latest research and designed to help teachers direct lessons and independent pupil activities in five areas of reading.

The research that the authors use is focussed on teaching reading by phonemic awareness, vocabulary, phonics, comprehension and fluency. The four books in this series are broken up into these five sections of reading pedagogy. A definition of the element of reading is given along with many ways for the teacher to implement the element into their teaching.


There are plenty teacher-directed activities, games and pupil-activity sheets throughout the four books.


These books are suitable for ages 4-7 and have been constructed around the Infant curricuum though the teacher could absolutely use these for First Class and within a Support setting for any age.


What I like about these books is the clarity and ease they provided for me to supplement the reading books and approaches I aready use in a meaningful and careful, planned way.

Other aspects I welcomed were the assessment tools for each element of reading that was being taught. Absolutely an essential for the teacher and child’s assessment portfolio. The assessment tests have not been simply pulled out of the air, they are taken or adapted from carefully constructed researched tests available to educators.


For example, the Phonemic Awareness Assessment test in Book 1 was adapted with permission from the Pre-phonics Tests:Phonemic Awareness and more by Doctor Fry.


In the Fluency section, there are many photocopiable resources such as reading diary records, reading award templates, nursery rhymes with activties and readers’ theatre scripts,


Within the Comprehension section, we have some graphic organisers like story maps, sequencing maps, text webs, stop and predict and story frames.


Book 1 starts with the basics and each book develops the reading element further, making it a very careful and motivating program for any class to follow. I am very impressed with this product and think that every school should have one. I am going to give it the “Star of the Class” award.


The books are available from and are priced at €29.95 each.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe without commenting

Related Posts

Review: The School Directory

The School Directory is a new service for schools to search for and find

Review: Prowise Interactive LCD Screen

We haven't reviewed an Interactive Whiteboard for a while so it was lovely to

Review: Adobe Slide

I am attending a PDST Tutor training 2-day course in Dublin today and tomorrow.

Review:New Wave English in Practice:Prim-Ed

Review:New Wave English in Practice:Prim-EdI am sure that many teachers out there have used

Does Maths make you feel like a fool?

As it's April Fool's Day, here's a puzzle that causes some bother for many

Book 1 speaking and listening3
Prim-Ed Review:Everyday Literacy:Speaking and listening

Prim-Ed Review:Everyday Literacy:Speaking and listeningPrim-Ed have released three books called Everyday literacy:Speaking and Listening.

Review: K7Math

K7Math is, as its name suggests, a mathematics resource for primary school teachers. Its

Create Calm Dining Halls

Review:How to Create Calm Dining Halls by Jenny MosleyThis book aims to help schools

The Summer Writing Institute for Teachers of Writing:University of Maynooth

I have been accepted for the Summer Writing Institute for Teachers of Writing this July

Review: New Wave Pre-Writing Patterns by Prim-Ed Publishing

Review: New Wave Pre-Writing Patterns by Prim-Ed Publishing I have a couple of products to

Review: Comprehension and Critical Thinking Digital Games:Prim-Ed

Review: Comprehension and Critical Thinking Digital Games:Prim-Ed You may have read my reviews on Prim-Ed's Maths

Review&Competition:Language Games Galore-CD ROM

Review&Competition:Language Games Galore-CD ROM have been sent a whole bundle of wonderful CD-ROMs from

Review & Competition: Literacy Boxes (Prim-Ed)

Review:The Literacy Box 1-3 from Prim-Ed If you have read my review on Writing Prompts

Review: 101 activities to help children get on with each together by Jenny Mosley and Helen Sonnet

Review: 101 activities to help children get on with each together by Jenny Mosley

Review: Dyce Game

NOTE: New version has been released. This is a repost of original review with
Review & Competition: Science (Prim-Ed)

Science-a complementary resource to Primary Science-Prim-Ed Science is made up of 6 photocopiable and lesson

2014-09-30 10.09.06
Review: MiTouch Interactive Touchscreen

The Interactive Whiteboard is dead! Long live the Interactive Touchscreen! This is what people

Review: Cé mhéad cat? Smarty Cat Games

Review: Cé mhéad cat? Smarty Cat GamesWe have been sent some very attractive and

beginning teaching
10 Educational Books that have stayed with me

Facebook is awash with challenges from ice-buckets to listing how you're grateful for the

Screenshot 2014-09-01 23.31.10
5 Websites for the beginning of the school year

With all primary schools in Ireland now open for the 2014/15 year, I thought I'd share

Review &competition: Writing Prompts Boxes from Prim-Ed

Review: Writing Prompts Boxes from Prim-Ed Writing prompts are a new product from Prim-Ed. They

Review:Jenny Mosley’s Top Tips for Calmer Classrooms and Puppet Scripts

Review:Jenny Mosley's Top Tips for Calmer Classrooms and Puppet Scripts We love Jenny Mosley and

Review: Helix Library System

Computerised Library Systems for school seem to be the "in thing" these days and

2014-07-27 16.33.20
Review: IPEVO Wireless Station

IPEVO are an interesting company. They make simple, affordable teaching tools and 32% of all primary schools in

Review: Fáilte go Sesame Street (Edco)

Fáilte go Sesame Street – Practise Irish with the Sesame Street Characters-New Irish Language

Can a Drag Queen teach Primary School Children about Acceptance?

At, we don't write enough about the arts in education, even though we're
Draft Primary Language Curriculum Consultation:Your input needed!

Draft Primary Language Curriculum Consultation:Your input needed!I posted about the draft primary language curriculum
NCCA look for teacher consultation on the new Primary Language Curriculum

The NCCA have laid out the draft document for the Language Learning curriculum, that

Review: Book Creator (iPad)

I am busy working on some lesson plans under the theme of the new
The Literacy Shed

In my free time, which isn't very much, I love, love, love writing and

Primary School Debating 2013

I am the Debating Coach in my new school. I had planned being very

Review: Big Book of Cloze:Prim-Ed

Review: Big Book of Cloze:Prim-EdEveryone loves a cloze test! They are tried and tested

Review:Developing Maths Concepts:Prim-Ed

Developing Maths Concepts in the Early Years:Prim-EdThis is a nice, chunky book for all

Review: Microsoft Surface RT

During the summer, Microsoft offered schools a heavy discount on their tablet, Surface RT.

Prezi for Brainstorming

I got one of those mass emails from the guys at Prezi today showcasing

Review: Symmetry School

Creating educational games isn't easy. It's not the product itself that's the difficult bit

Review: Bullying( Prim Ed)

The Bullying photocopiable resource books are made up of three books-lower, middle and upper.They

Review: Know Your World (Edware)

Just when you think a game can't get any better, Luke from Edware has

Review: Conflict resolution(Prim-Ed)

Conflict Resolution is a set of 3 teacher resource books from Prim-Ed. As teachers,

Cloze Interactive Software
Review: Cloze:Interactive solution for teaching cloze skills-Prim-Ed

Review: Cloze:Interactive solution for teaching cloze skills-Prim-EdCloze is a CD-ROM developed by Prim-Ed for doing

Review:Prim-Ed Essentials…

I am in a writing group and we often debate various pieces of grammar.

What good writers do? Teaching writing in the primary classroom part 6

Good writers share their work with others! This might sound obvious; after all it cannot

My spelling workbooks-Prim-ed
Review:My Spelling workbook (PrimEd)

Review:My Spelling workbook (PrimEd)This set of books was always going to be more challenging

Lovely notebooks
What do Good Writers do? Teaching writing in the primary classroom-Part 5

Good writers like their notebooks!I have noticed that writers love notebooks! I have approximately

Review: Scratch from Scratch

Scratch is a fantastic programming language that has taken the world of education by

Dice Activites
Review:Dice Activities(Prim-Ed)

Dice Activities:Building number sense and power is a photocopiable teacher resource book available from

Review: MiTouch Interactive Monitor

Regular readers of may have noticed that there haven't been many articles about

Review:Preparing for first reconciliation-a guide for families(Veritas)

Preparing for first reconciliation:A guide for families is aimed at families who want to

Know Your Ireland goes App

I suppose I wasn't surprised to hear when I got a message from Edware

In the Armagh Planetarium finding about being an astronaut.
Maths: It’s Rocket Science summer course in Dunsink Observatory

Maths: It’s Rocket Science summer course in Dunsink ObservatoryI’ve been teaching for 12 years

Screen Shot 2012-05-13 at 15.45.58
Review: Cloud Cuckoo World

With the baffling cuts to language learning in our primary schools in a time

Review: Rí Rá (Coimicí Gael)

Rí Rá is a new Irish language comic for children. It is a bright

Screen Shot 2012-03-10 at 22.18.34
Review: 2012 Irish Olympics Team (Prim-Ed)

The Olympics will be held in London this year and Prim-Ed are the official

The Big Book of Energizers

The Big Book of EnergizersSeptember is always full of energy and optimism for teachers,

The Big Book of Calmers-Review

We all have had those days when the kids are hyped up and it

Review: Jenny Mosley – Golden Rules in Action

The Golden Rules have been part of many classrooms all over Ireland. Jenny Mosley

Review: Classroom Art and Crafts (Prim-Ed)

When I first saw this book, a feeling of dread came over me.  Art

Review: Céard É Sin? (ResourcED)

When it comes to educational software, Irish teachers can generally rely on other countries

Review:Positive Press:Singing Games-songs for learning and playing together

I really liked this book! It does what it says it should do!It comes

Review: Grace App (Steven Troughton-Smith)

For those of you who have any experience of working with children with autism,

Review(Positive Press):Clapping games:Whole brain workouts for lively children

Here we have some fun and stimulating clapping games for children from 1st Class

Review: ICTs in the Primary School

ICTs in the Primary School is a book published by the Dublin West Education

Review: Jenny Mosley's Golden Rules

Golden Rules Animal Story books(Positive Press:Jenny Mosley GR series)The Golden Rules have been part

All books
Review:Prim-Ed:Bullying in a cyber world

Review:Prim-Ed:Bullying in a cyber world Prim-Ed have produced a set of 4 books on the

Review: Know Your Money

Edware have decided to branch out of the geography market and have now entered

Review:Songs and finger plays for the early years-Prim-Ed

Review:Songs and finger plays for the early years-Prim-EdSongs and finger plays for the early

Easi-Speak from TTS
Review: Easi-Speak (TTS)

The Easi-Speak from TTS is a microphone designed for children. As with all TTS

Review: The Vikings in Ireland (CDGA)

The Vikings in Ireland is a CD-ROM designed to teach children about the lives

Review: Fizzbook Spin

Schools have been hearing about the Fizzbook Spin for ages but with the IPPN

Review of the Year – Top of the Class 2010 takes a look back on some of the products we reviewed and awarded

Review: Early Years Themes (Prim-Ed)

Junior Infants are one of the most fun classes to teach. The children

Review: Signposts

If you work in an Educate Together school, one of the biggest challenges is

reading with phonics
Review: Reading with Phonics( Prim-Ed)

Reading with Phonics:Phonics in context-Early Readers( Prim-Ed) Reading with Phonics is a set of 3

Review: Qwizdom Actionpoint Q6

One device that hasn't "gone viral" in a big way in Irish classrooms is

Review: eGaeilge 1 (CDGA)

Last week, I reviewed CDGA's software Reading Tracks 1. I thought that the

think green
Review of Think Green: Environmental studies in geography:(Prim-Ed)

Think Green are a new 5-book series from Prim-Ed that aim to teach environmental

Thematic planning using India (Prim-Ed)

“India-a cross curricular theme” is a new set of 3 photocopiable teacher resource book

Reading Tracks 1 (CDGA)

Reading Tracks is the first in a series of educational games designed and written

Exploring Visual Arts
Exploring Visual Arts (Prim-Ed)

Exploring Visual Arts is a new 3-part series divided into 3 age brackets. 5-7,

Handwriting Today
Handwriting Today (Prim-Ed)

When I received the package of Handwriting books from Prim-ed, I must admit, I

Purple Mash

In Ireland, we use a lot of technology resources from other countries. Our market

NCCA Planning Toolkit

Out of the blue, a few days ago, the NCCA released an online planning

photo (5)
The Comprehension Box (Prim-Ed)

When a large box arrived on my doorstep, I got very excited! It wasn't

S.A.L.T Teaching children how to deal with conflict.

The S.A.L.T. Programme is an innovative programme, specially developed for the Irish Curriculum and

Spell Rite Right (Learning Horizons)

I worked with a small group of children in the Support setting for the

Literacy through Science
Literacy through Science (Prim-Ed)

Let's take two reasonably unrelated subjects - English and Science - and integrate them.

Investigating Renewable Energy and Sustainability (Prim-Ed)

Being green has never been more important.  It is often said that the companies

Iomega StorCenter ix4-200d

Memory Bank is a wholesale provider of technology products and services. They supply companies

Puffins by Vincent Hyland

Vincent Hyland Learning is a Kerry-based company founded by the man himself.  Vincent is

Review: Wizteach (Qwizdom)

Every so often, a piece of software comes along which tries to steal the

SESE Interactive

I spent some time looking at SESE Interactive, the latest piece of software from

Review: Grammar & Word Study (Prim-Ed)

How do you make grammar more fun for kids?  That's the question that's never

BrainSnack (Prim-Ed)

BrainSnack comes in a very big box full of big shiny cards with problems

Review: Problem-solving in Mathematics (Prim-Ed)

As a fan of facilitating higher-order thinking skills, I always get very worried when

Review: Aladdin Schools

One of the interesting things about the Expo at the Irish Primary Principals Network

YTeach (Prim-Ed)

YTeach is a new online resource aimed at children from 3rd class upwards. When

Turn your school around

This review is the last of a four part "Jenny Mosely" book month that


I was asked to review the web site, which is an online eLearning

Review: Literacy Activity Builder

My school recently purchased a piece of software called Literacy Activity Builder. You can